Welcome to the CAT Awards

The Canberra Area Theatre Awards (CAT Awards) have been part of the theatre, dance and musical scene in Canberra and the surrounding districts since 1994. They provide recognition for the enormous contribution made by non-professional groups to the artistic life of Australia, in particular in Canberra and the region, and they encourage individuals in the performing arts.

Latest News
2019 Nominations have been published!

See full list of nominations here>>


2019 25th Gala Awards Night

6 pm Saturday 15 February 18 April 2020
Llewellyn Hall, ANU School of Music
See more information about the awards night>>

Video highlights

Thanks to David Spicer from Stage Whispers, see video highlights of the 2018 Awards Night>>

Special Award to Coralie Wood OAM

Coralie Wood OAM, the latest inductee into the Association of Community Theatre Hall of Fame


Our Patrons

Toni Lamond AM, Michael Edgley MBE CIT WA Mary Porter AM, John Wood, Simon Gallaher